The Department provides a wide range of services to Canadian business men. It comprises: the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service, Commodities Branch (including the Transportation and Trade Services Division), Agriculture and Fisheries Branch, International Trade Relations Branch, Trade Publicity Branch, Industrial Development Branch, Small Business Branch, Economics Branch, Energy Studies Branch, Standards Branch, Economic and Technical Assistance Branch and the Canadian Government Exhibition Commission.

The following boards, commissions, Crown corporations and agencies report to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce—seven of them through his capacity as Chairman of the Privy Council Committee on Scientific and Industrial Research: Board of Grain Commissioners, Canadian Wheat Board, Dominion Bureau of Statistics, Export Credits Insurance Corporation, Northern Ontario Pipe Line Crown Corporation, National Energy Board, Atomic Energy Control Board, Atomic Energy of Canada Limited, Canadian Patents and Development Limited, National Research Council, Eldorado Mining and Refining Company Limited, Eldorado Aviation Limited, and Northern Transportation Company Limited.

Department of Transport.—The Department was created on Nov. 2, 1936 from the former Departments of Marine and of Railways and Canals, and the Civil Aviation Branch of the Department of National Defence (RSC 1952, c. 79).

The work of the Department consists of three main Services: Marine, Air and Railways. Marine Service operations include aids to navigation, nautical and pilotage services, marine agencies, secondary canals, steamship inspection and floating equipment, and direct supervision over 300 public harbours; nine other harbours come under supervision of the Department but are administered by commissions. Air Services cover the operation of civil aviation, meteorological and telecommunication branches. The latter includes the administration and regulation of radar, radio marine and radio aeronautical aids to navigation and of communication by wire and by government telegraph and telephone.

Other services of the Department are in connection with the Government-owned companies: the Canadian National Railways, Canadian Government Railways, the Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland, and Yarmouth-Bar Harbor ferry services, and Trans-Canada Air Lines.

The Minister of Transport is responsible to Parliament for the following boards, commissions and Crown companies: the Air Transport Board; Board of Transport Commissioners; Canadian Maritime Commission; National Harbours Board; Park Steamship Company Limited; the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority; and the Canadian Overseas Telecommunication Corporation.

Department of Veterans Affairs.—This Department, established in 1944 (RSC 1952, c. 80), is concerned exclusively with the welfare of veterans and with the dependants of veterans and of those who died on active service. The Department provides treatment services (hospital, medical, dental and prosthetic), welfare services, education assistance, life insurance, and land settlement and home construction assistance. The Veterans' Bureau assists veterans in the preparation and presentation of pension claims.

The Canadian Pension Commission, established by the Pension Act (RSC 1952, c. 207), and the War Veterans Allowance Board, established by the War Veterans Allowance Act (RSC 1952, c. 340), also report to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs.

The Department has treatment institutions and facilities in a number of centres of population. It also maintains administrative offices, shared by the Canadian Pension Commission and the War Veterans Allowance Board, in large cities across Canada and in London, England.

Emergency Measures Organization.—This Organization is a section of the Privy Counci Office, established in June 1957 for the purpose of co-ordinating civil emergency planning. On Sept. 1, 1959, the Departments of National Defence, Health and Welfare, and Justice became responsible for specific civil defence functions; the Emergency Measures Organization for the residue. The Organization is responsible, through the Secretary of the Cabinet, to the Prime Minister.

National Energy Board.—This Board was established under the National Energy Board Act, 1959 for the broad purpose of assuring the best use of energy resources in Canada. The Board, composed of five members, is responsible for the regulation of the construction and operation of the oil and gas pipelines that are under the jurisdiction of the Parliament of Canada, the tolls charged for transmission by oil and gas pipeline, the export and import of gas and the export of electric power, and the construction of the lines over which such power is transmitted. The Board is also required to study and keep under review all matters relating to energy under the jurisdiction of the Parliament of Canada and to recommend such measures as it considers necessary and advisable on the subject. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police.—The Royal Canadian Mounted Police, a civil force maintained by the Federal Government, was organized in 1873 as the North West Mounted Police. It now operates under the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act 1959 and is responsible for enforcing federal laws throughout Canada. By agreement with certain provincial governments, it is also responsible for enforcing provincial laws within those provinces and for policing many district municipalities, cities and towns. The Force is controlled and administered by the Minister of Justice.